Full Legislative History
Resolution Number: 1994-A078
Title: Propose Commemorations to be Added to the Church Calendar
Legislative Action Taken: Concurred As Amended
Final Text:

Resolved, That the General Convention propose additional commemorations for inclusion in the Calendar of the Church Year and authorize trial use thereof for the triennium 1994-1997, as follows:

January 9 -Julia Chester Emery, Missionary, 1922

February 18 -Martin Luther, Reformer, 1546

April 9 -Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Pastor and Theologian, 1945

July 19 -Macrina, Monastic and Teacher, 379

July 20 -Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Amelia Bloomer, Sojourner Truth and Harriet Tubman, 19th Century Liberators and Prophets

July 31 -Ignatius of Loyola, Priest, Monastic, and Founder of the Society of Jesus, 1556 (transferring the commemoration of Joseph of Arimathea to August 1)

September 4 -Paul Jones, Bishop of Utah and Peace Advocate, 1941

September 10 -Alexander Crummell, Priest, Missionary, and Educator, 1898

September 17 -Hildegard, Abbess of Bingen, Mystic, 1170

December 29 -Thomas Becket, Archbishop of Canterbury, 1170

Citation: General Convention, Journal of the General Convention of...The Episcopal Church, Indianapolis, 1994 (New York: General Convention, 1995), p. 684.